Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m weak. I love shopping for photo gear. I love buying photo gear. I love looking at all the cool new gadgets (do I really need a lens for my iPhone? YES! NO! AHHHHHH!).  But let’s face it. None of this has done much to improve my photography.

“Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst” – Henri Cartier-Bresson

To get better, shoot more. For every photo I publish I’ve likely shot at least 100 that I’ve rejected.  I’ve gotten lucky with some shots. It’s frustrating. But amazing too.  If you’re interested, read Eric Kim’s 10 Tips on How to Cure Yourself of GAS (Gear Acquisition Syndrome)

But in interest of full disclosure, here’s some of my gear. I like to keep things simple. Digital is all Nikon. I have a 35mm prime, 50mm prime, and the 18-55 kit lens which never leaves the bag.  I shoot with several film cameras: A Canon QL17 Rangefinder, and Nikon N65, and an Olympus Point & Shoot from the 80s. Each film camera has it’s own characteristics so I like to play around with them. I love the Canon. But I’m so used to auto focus at this point that it’s sometimes hard to shoot with it.  I’m on a bit of a film camera collecting binge (see, I’m weak).  I also have an old Rusisian Zorki, a second Canon QL17, 1930s Kodak.

I can’t completely cure myself of gear-head syndrome. It’s fun. Bresson shot his street photos with a 50mm lens.  I like to switch it up a bit more.  I’ll never be as good as Bresson, but I can take his lesson of simplicity to heart and have fun doing it!

